Create new project without UI

Find and share HowTos to various installations / configurations!
Search

Post Reply
8 posts • Page 1 of 1
uxout
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:07 am

Create new project without UI

Post by uxout » Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:36 pm

Is it possible to create a new project without going into the Project Administrator ? (ie : CTRL Script ? Copy folder of a new project + register? Other?)
My goal is to create a new project with some default config.
I tried to use the function paCreateProjExtend() from pa.ctl but it isn't working.

Any idea/sugestion would be appreciated.
Thanks !

User avatar
leoknipp
Posts: 1936
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:28 pm

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by leoknipp » Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:45 pm

If you want to register an already existing project on a machine you can
-- copy the project to the machine
-- register the project by calling WCCILpmon -config <path to the config file> -autoreg -noAutoStart
-- stop WCCILpmon

Now the project should be registered.

Best Regards
Leopold Knipp
Senior Support Specialist

uxout
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by uxout » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:53 am

I want to generate a new standard project from command line. Is it possible?

User avatar
leoknipp
Posts: 1936
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:28 pm

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by leoknipp » Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:46 am

Why do you want to create a new project from command line?
What is the use case for creating a project "manually"?

Best Regards
Leopold Knipp
Senior Support Specialist

uxout
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by uxout » Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:06 am

It is needed for continuous integration purpose.
I just wanted to know if it is possible or should I just copy a sample project?

User avatar
leoknipp
Posts: 1936
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:28 pm

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by leoknipp » Fri Jul 05, 2019 7:13 am

There is no command line call available to create a new project.
Creating the project is done with a CTRL command which calls then C++ functions in WinCC OA.

Best Regards
Leopold Knipp
Senior Support Specialist

gschijndel
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:12 pm

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by gschijndel » Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:07 pm

You could also create a script, which creates a new project, and call this script from the command line (without event connection).
But copying a sample project would be easier. To prevent somebody from expanding the sample database and to be sure that the testing starts with an empty database, you could create a new database with 'WCCOAtoolCreateDb'.

uxout
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Create new project without UI

Post by uxout » Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:23 am

Copying a sample project will be the way to go then !
Thanks for the informations.

Post Reply
8 posts • Page 1 of 1